



24th EACO Congress, 9th July 2021

PROGRAMME:

Official Opening of 24th EACO Congress		
Moderator : Ms Janet Umutesi, RURA		
(Kigali Time)		
08:00- 8:05	Rwanda Anthem	
08:05- 8:10	EAC Anthem	
08:10- 8:15	Remarks by Dr Ally Simba, Executive Secretary, EACO	
08:15- 8:20	Remarks by Dr Jabiri Bakari Kuwe , Chairman of EACO (Director General TCRA)	
08:20- 8:25	Remarks by Dr Ernest Nsabimana , DG RURA (Incoming Chairman of EACO)	
08:25- 8:30	Remarks by Guest of Honor, Hon. Prof. Nshuti Manasseh , Minister of State in charge of the East African Community in the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation - Republic of Rwanda	
08:30- 8:50	Group Photo by EACO Secretariat	
HIGH LEVEL ROUND TABLE:		
Theme:" Positioning East African Region to Strategize for Emerging Technology"		
Moderator: Mr. William Baraza		
Director, African Advanced Level Telecommunications Institute (AFRALTI)		
8:50 - 9:05	Key note Address:	
	Dr Bello Moussa, Director of Innovation and ICT Strategy	
	Huawei South Africa	
9:05 - 9:10	Mr. John OMO, Secretary General- ATU	

9:10 - 9:15	Mr Nathan Chizotera Mkandawire, Head, Operations & Technology, Representing Secretary General- PAPU
9:15 - 9:25	Eng. Irene Kaggwa Sewankambo, Ag. Executive Director-UCC Uganda
9:25 - 9:35	Mr Constaque Kubwimana, Representative, Director General- ARCT Bujumbura
9:35 - 9:45	Ms. Mercy Wanjau, Ag. Director General-CA Kenya
9:45 - 9:55	Mr. N. Adok Gai, Director General- NCA South Sudan
	24 TH EACO CONGRESS PROCEDINGS
	Moderator : Ms Janet Umutesi, RURA
9:55 - 10:00	Adoption of the Agenda and Programme
10:00 – 10:05	Election of the Bureau
10:05 – 10:30	Report of the Chairperson of the 23 rd EACO Congress
	by Dr Jabiri Bakari Kuwe , outgoing Chairman of EACO (Director General TCRA)
10:30 – 10:40	Handover Ceremony of EACO Chairmanship between:
	Dr Jabiri Bakari Kuwe, outgoing Chairman of EACO (Director General TCRA) and
	Dr Ernest Nsabimana, DG RURA (Incoming Chairman of EACO)
	Handover of Instrument of Power by the outgoing EACO Chairman
10:40- 10:45	Consideration of Applications for Membership to EACO
10:45- 11:10	EACO Audited Financial Statements for the Financial Year 2018-2019 & 2019-2020
	Chairperson - Mr. Dominic Ooko
11:10- 11:20	Report of Legal & Constitutional Affairs Committee (LCAC)
	Chairperson – Mr. Timothee Rudaseswa
11:20- 11:30	Report of Human Resource Committee (HRC)
	Chairperson – Mr. Erasmo A. Mbilinyi
11:30– 11:50	Report of the Joint Working Committee by
	Mr Lionel Rwamamara, 1 st Rapporteur
11:50– 11:55	Address by Mr. Tomas Lamanauskas, Candidate ITU – DSG

11:55– 12:00	Address by Ms Jessica Uwera, Elected ASG, PAPU
12:00- 12:10	Date, Venue and Host of:
	28 th Annual Assembly of EACO
	the 25 th EACO Congress
12:10- 12:25	Summary of the Decisions of the 24th EACO Congress
	By Dr Norah Sitati , EACO
12:25- 12:30	Closing Ceremony and Wrap up by
	Dr Ernest Nsabimana, DG RURA, Chairman of EACO