EACO Executive Committee

The Executive Committee is composed of the Chairperson of the Congress, Chairperson each of the Assemblies and the Executive Secretary. The Chairperson of the Congress is the Chairperson of the Executive Committee. The Executive Committee is responsible for the direction of the affairs of the Organization in between meetings of the Congress.

Executive Committee Members

Mr. Francis Wangusi, Director-General, Communications Authority of Kenya

Francis W Wangusi has been the Director-General of the Communications Authority of Kenya (CA) – the government regulatory agency responsible for ICTs and Postal development, since August 2012, having carried out the role in an acting capacity for the previous year. Mr Wangusi has more than 20 years of experience in ICT and joined the CA (which was then the Communications Commission of Kenya) in 2000 as Assistant Director. He later became Director in charge of Broadcasting and Special Projects and Director in charge of Licensing, Compliance and Standards. Before joining the CA, he worked at the Kenya Posts and Telecommunications Corporation and was a Senior Lecturer at the Kenya College for Communications Technology. Mr Wangusi has played a pivotal role in a number of important ICT and Postal development projects in Kenya. In recognition of this, he was awarded the presidential honour of the Moran of the Order of the Burning Spear (MBS) in 2013. He has a Master’s degree in Space Sciences with specialisation in Satellite Communications from the International Space University, France; a BSc in Telecommunications Engineering from the University of Rome, Italy, and a Charted Engineer Part II Certificate from the Institute of Electronics Engineering, UK. He also has a Global Executive Masters Degree in Business Administration (GEMBA) from the United States International University (USIU).

Dr. Ally Y. Simba EACO Executive Secretary.

Dr. Ally Y. Simba is the Executive Secretary of the East African Communications Organisations (EACO). He was appointed to the position on 1st August 2017 for a period of four years. Prior to his appointment he had served as a Director of Knowledge Management with the Tanzania Commission for Science and Technology (COSTECH). He has more than 16 years of experience in communication industry where he has worked as an Engineer with a mobile phone operator, as a researcher, as regulator, and as policy maker with the central government of the United Republic of Tanzania. He received his B.Sc. (Hons.) degree in Electronics Science and Communications from the University of Dar Es Salaam, Tanzania, in 1998, and the M.E and Ph.D. degrees in Electronics and Information Engineering from Hokkaido University, Sapporo, Japan, in 2003 and 2006, respectively.

Dr. Simba was an Expert Researcher with the National Institute of Information and Communications Technology, Tokyo, Japan from 2006 to 2011, where he was involved in research on the effect of exposure from mobile phones and base stations to the human health. From 2011 to 2013, he was a Manager for Planning and Research with the Tanzania Communications Regulatory Authority (TCRA), Dar Es Salaam, Tanzania. From 2013 to 2015, he served as a Director of ICT at the Ministry of Communication Science and Technology (MCST) of the United Republic of Tanzania and later appointed to the position of Director General of TCRA in July 2015, a position he served until December, 2016. Dr. Simba has published widely in peer-reviewed international journals and presented his research work in more than 30 international conferences. He participated actively in the work of the Study Group 5 of the International Telecommunication Union (ITU) since 2009.

During his tenure at the MCST, Dr. Simba was a group leader of the local expert group which formulated Tanzania’s Cyber laws, namely Cyber Crime Act and E-Transactions Act in 2015 and served as Project Director for the World Bank funded Regional Communication Infrastructure Programme (RCIP) as well as National ICT Broadband Backbone (NICTBB) Project.

Dr. Simba is a Chartered Engineer, registered with the U.K. Engineering Council and a Fellow of the Institution of Engineering and Technology, U.K., where he served an International Professional Registration Advisor for Engineering Professional Registration from April 2011 to March 2014. He is also a Senior Member of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE). Dr. Simba appears in 11th Edition of the Marquis Who's Who in Science and Engineering, 2011–2012. He was the recipient of the Japanese Government Scholarship (Monbusho Scholarship) from 2000 to 2006.

Mr Godfrey Mutabazi, Executive Director of Uganda Communication

Lt Col Patrick Nyirishema, Director General of Rwanda Utilities Regulatory Authority.

Eng. Donatien MANIRAMPA, Director General of Agence de Régulation et de Contrôle des Télécommunications (ARCT), Burundi

Dr. Lado Wani Kenyi, Director-General of the National Communications Authority (NCA),South Sudan.

Chairman of Postal Assembly

Mr. Dan Kagwe Postmaster General/ Chief Executive Officer Postal Corporation of Kenya & Chairman of EACO Postal Assembly .

Chairman of Telecom Assembly

Karimi Ruria Senior Manager Public Policy at Safaricom Ltd & Chairperson of EACO Telecom Assembly.

Chairman of Broadcast Assembly

Ms. Racheal Nakitare Television Programmes Manager at Kenya Broadcasting Corporate (KBC) & Chairman of EACO Broadcasting Assembly.